Food for thought about how to live healthy!

Ever heard that phrase, “You are what you eat?” My diet consists of Cheerios for breakfast and mystery pizza from my dorm’s cafeteria. But brand name cereal and sketchy pizza doesn’t quite paint the portrait of my personality.

I am a sophomore college student studying journalism at ASU. I am taking an Online Media class this semester and we’re learning how to utilize social media to capture an audience of readers. Each student was told to create a blog about a unique topic that fits his or her interests.

I wanted to blog about health and medicine, but I knew that was too generic. I, therefore, came up with the idea to gather a bunch of different health sites together via a Twitter account and dissect whatever was being published into an easy to read guide on how to live healthy. It’s like a Health 101 or Health for Dummies blog.

It’s difficult for a journalism student with a minor in political science to establish her credibility as a health blogger, but I’m actually more informed about medicine than it would appear. My mother has been a Health writer for the Los Angeles Times for over 10 years. She’s mentored me and inspired me to become interested in health and medicine. I’ve taken two advanced biology classes in high school, and I took a Human Anatomy and Physiology class (designed for students going into nursing) last semester.

I know the difference between tachycardia and bradycardia, I can identify the gallbladder on an open cadaver (which I did last semester), and I’m humorously known by some of my friends as “Dr. Jane.”

As far as the whole “Apple Theme” goes, apples are my favorite fruit. And I wanted to do something linking that old cliche about keeping doctors away with apples with my blog.

Even though I’m only required to blog 10 times this semester, I really enjoy doing this so I’m probably going to blog 2-4 times a week.

I created a tumblr and a twitter for my blogs in case anyone is interested in following those. And if you ever want a brief summary of who I am and what my blog is about, I created a page titled “My Blog and I” that can be found in the top right corner of the home page.

My goal is to educate people on living healthier. Even if only one person views my blog post, I’ll be happy knowing that at least some one learned something about how to live healthier.

Leave a Reply

